Open Technology for Farmers at Eco-Farm

Hi Colleagues,

As a former farmer, I was a huge fan of the Eco-Farm conference every January. I have taken a few runs at session proposals that connect the dots between ethical relationship with the land and human communities and Open Source tools for farmers. I haven’t hit the sweet spot yet in terms of describing why open-pollinated software makes as much sense to a farm’s resilience as open pollinated seeds (for basically the same reasons). I would really love to try again to get this onto farmers’ radar, and I am looking for co-conspirators to help. Would you like to team up on a presentation proposal (and presentation)? The form we would fill out is here (it’s not onerous) and the deadline is June 10. Please grab me or just reply to this post if this idea excites you too!

7 Likes

I’m totally game! I think lots of people could here could back you up there also, but I’m definitely game.

1 Like

Yassss @laurieWayne, I love this! Eco farm is fantastic and I’d love to help put something together. When I was a student I had tried to propose a session on participatory design of farmer tech so have at least filled out the form once a while back (though unsuccessfully :joy:).

Let me know if you’re planning a meet or how to contribute!

1 Like

Count me in!

Fantastic @jgaehring @sudokita and @gbathree! A meeting seems like a logical next step, and anyone who reads this thread is warmly invited! I wish I had some more magical way to propose a time than a LettuceMeet, but I don’t. Sigh. Is it cutting things too close to propose some times in the first week of June/short week after Memorial Day? Let me know if you think so, or else please do your thing here: https://lettucemeet.com/l/eDWJv I’ll post a proposal like Friday unless you di it first! :slight_smile: