GOAT 2020 @ Omega again? Updates + CALL FOR ORGANIZERS!

First… PLEASE REPLY HERE IF YOU WANT TO HELP ORGANIZE THIS YEAR!

Hi all, @sudokita and I have been poking to prepare for GOAT 2020. Based on previous discussions w/ last years organizing team, feedback, and the successful start of OpenTEAM, we see something like a low cost event with 75 - 100 people feels right. We feel that focusing on community building, engaging new communities, and building personal relationships (+ having fun!) as a key element for what we’d like to build.

We contacted Omega Institute, a beautiful location near a major city (NYC) for easy travel, and our 2018 GOAT location, and got some numbers for a conference there:

• 3 day conference
  • June 7 (arrive that night), 8 - 10 (conference), 11 - 12 (post event hacking optional)
  • 100ish people + optional family members for those want to make it a workcation!
  • $75/day, all inclusive (3 meals/day, room, access to conference space, etc.) - this is a crazy good deal
  • Option to bring family members for the week ($25/day for kids, free for under 3!) - make it easier for week-long hack sessions after the conference without messing up family schedules

To ballpark the cost, it’s 3 x 100 x 75 = $22,500… Omega makes it easy because food, lodging, and conference center is all included. In our recent GOSH event, we had 3 levels (an academic / company level, a normal person level, and a need some help level). That covered most of our cost, and added funds to support travel to ensure we’re getting a diverse pool of participants.

Further ballparking (this needs to be spreadsheeted but here it is for now):
Income
Donations (companies, non-profits, etc.): $8,000
Full cost applicant (assume 40%): $350/person (350 x 40 = $14,000
Reduced cost applicant (assume 20%): $225/person (225 x 20) = $4,500
No cost applicant (assume 40%): free

Total = 8000 + 14000 + 4500 = $26,500