Regen Market Imperfections

I am not a developer and have no experience with blockchain but I understand regenerative agriculture and a bit about economics. I have a few questions after reading the whitepaper.

If I am correct in understanding the purpose: to create a means to verify environmental improvement while connecting those affecting the changes with those interested in investing in such changes.

It seems that all of this is predicated on change of state, with the main assumption being that land is not allocated to its optimal ecological use. If this is true, then:

1. How does a farmer get paid if their land is already managed optimally and therefore requires no change?
  2. How does the Regen Network avoid the perverse incentive farmers might have to allow degraded land to descend into its worst state before making improvements in order to maximize payment?
  3. Does a farmer get paid continually for the improved state, or is it only for the change toward regenerative farming?
3 Likes

Hi @J3D!

Sorry for the horrendous delay, I can do my best to answer your questions. I am going to look and see where the post notifications are going.

Your first question
The crux of this is actually the word optimal. For most companies, on paper, it’s somewhat possible to reduce any complex set of possibilities into single dimensional projections involving a number of dollars. But if you apply it to the dense set of social, economic, and environmental forces around agricultural land use, you quickly start to realize that what you are actually asking is “optimal towards what”. Think of a computer science problem, you must choose which parameters you want to optimize for.