GOAT 2022 Introductions

In preparation for the 2022 conference - let’s get to know each other!

Respond to the following points:

1. Who you are (e.g., preferred name, pronouns, affiliations, role within the GOAT community)
  2. What you do (professionally, in the Open Source world, in the Agriculture world, and in the world generally)
  3. What projects you work on,
  4. What skills/tools/resources you can bring to GOAT,
  5. Why openness in ag is important to you.

I’ll get the ball rolling -->

1. I’m Juliet Norton (she/her). I’m an agricultural informatics project manager (primary) and researcher (secondary) in the Agricultural Informatics Lab at Purdue University. This lab is managed and motivated by @sudokita. I live in Martinez, California. I’m a practicing steward of the land, water, and air in the ways that I can given my sort of access to and relationship with these resources. Finally, I am active in my local community as a citizen, a woman, an environmentalist, and a parent.

2. Professionally, I support the agricultural sector with the design of open source technology grounded in the needs of resilient food systems.

3. In the last three years, a large portion of my work has been working with the national cover crop councils in the design of their decision support tools. I have also been active in our lab’s ongoing design and development of a Plant Data Service API and dashboard for crop data, cover crop data, and more.

4. Our research lab has been working on an open source handbook for research products in effort to give them legs as open source tools adopted and maintained by a broader public. On behalf of our lab, I hope to pilot this handbook with GOAT attendees.